Bulletin Asie-Pacifique : Aperçu stratégique de l’Océanie (East-West Center)

Bulletin Asie-Pacifique : Aperçu stratégique de l’Océanie – Cleo Paskal Le East-West Center publie plusieurs bulletins Asie-Pacifique dont l’objectif est de mettre en lumière les enjeux clés auxquels l’Océanie doit faire face en 2018. Le premier article est un aperçu stratégique de l’Océanie par Dr Cleo Paskal : “La confluence de changements majeurs dans les “3 géos” ( géopolitique, géoéconomique et géophysique) confère à l’Océanie une image stratégique de plus en plus complexe.” Paskal Cleo. 2018. “Bulletin Asie-Pacifique: Aperçu stratégique de l’Océanie”. Bulletins Asie-Pacifique (n°413). East-West Center : Washington.

Comment la Nouvelle-Zélande naviguera-t-elle dans la nouvelle ère en Asie? (The Diplomat)

Comment la Nouvelle-Zélande naviguera-t-elle dans la nouvelle ère en Asie? – Ed Kennedy “Les nouvelles de Beijing fin février ont annoncé que le président Xi Jinping pourrait devenir “président à vie” après la suppression de la limite des deux mandats, ce qui a provoqué des ondes de choc dans toute la région, y compris en Nouvelle-Zélande. La nécessité de tracer une nouvelle direction pour la politique de la Nouvelle-Zélande en Asie est depuis longtemps évidente. Mais la tentative audacieuse de Xi pour consolider le pouvoir devrait être perçue comme une confirmation : Wellington ne peut plus aborder la politique étrangère en […]

La Sécurité en Océanie au 21ème siècle (Asia Pacific Center for Security Studies)

La Sécurité en Océanie au 21ème siècle – Eric Shibuya and Jim Rolfe «Là où l’attention s’est concentrée sur les problèmes de sécurité des petits États insulaires,les analyses se concentrent sur ce qui s’est passé ou ce qu’il peut arriver aux États insulairesplutôt que ce que ces derniers peuvent faire pour améliorer leurs propres perspectives de sécurité. Des discussions éminentes sur la sécurité en général, voire sur la sécurité Asie-Pacifique, n’ont pas pris en compte les préoccupations des États insulaires, voire pas du tout.» Shibuya, Eric and Jim Rolfe. 2003. Security in Oceania in the 21st Century. Asia-Pacific Center for […]

La France replonge dans le Pacifique du Sud (The World Today)

La France replonge dans le Pacifique du Sud – Cleo Paskal Dans son article “France dives back in the South Pacific”, Cleo Paskal réaffirme l’importance géostratégique des territoires du Pacifique pour la France. L’engagement grandissant de la Chine en Océanie pousse la France à participer davantage aux activités diplomatiques de la région. L’évènement marquant reste la vente de sous-marins à l’Australie ; l’alliance stratégique entre les deux pays laisse présager l’apparition d’une toute nouvelle ligne de défense dans le Pacifique Sud, anticipant d’éventuels conflits dans le Pacifique Nord.

La France néo-coloniale de retour dans le Pacifique Sud et pourquoi ? (The John Batchelor Show)

La France néo-coloniale de retour dans le Pacifique Sud et pourquoi ? – Cleo Paskal Cleo Paskal met en lumière l’engagement grandissant de la France dans la région du Pacifique Sud. L’évènement le plus marquant est sa récente participation au Forum des îles du Pacifique via ses territoires, et par-dessus tout, la vente de sous-marins à l’Australie. Qu’est-ce que cela signifie pour les décideurs français ? Cleo Paskal nous donne ses réponses.

Anxiété et espoir diminué : Le Potentiel Impact de la présidence de Trump sur la Sécurité de la région des îles du Pacifique (The Round Table)

Anxiété et espoir diminué : Le Potentiel Impact de la présidence de Trump sur la Sécurité de la région des îles du Pacifique – Steven Ratuva Ratuva examine deux scenarios contradictoires – l’isolationnisme et la militarisation – en vue de prévoir l’impact de Trump sur les pays insulaires du Pacifique. L’auteur mesure également l’impact du déni de Trump en ce qui a trait au changement climatique sur ces pays. Steven Ratuva (2017): “Anxiety and Diminished Hope: The Potential Impact of Trump’s Presidency on Security in the Pacific Islands Region”, The Round Table: 1-8  

Série Enseigner l’Océanie : Militarisme et essais nucléaires (Center for Pacific Islands Studies)

Série Enseigner l’Océanie : Militarisme et essais nucléaires – Joseph H. Genz et al. «La série Enseigner l’Océanie est conçue pour répondre aux besoins des étudiants de premier cycle en études océaniennes en Océanie et ailleurs. ». Ce volume cherche à mettre en lumière «les impacts de la militarisation et des essais nucléaires dans les îles du Pacifique et sur les insulaires du Pacifique. ». Genz, Joseph H, Noelani Goodyear-Kaʻōpua, Monica C LaBriola, Alexander Mawyer, Elicita N Morei, and John P Rosa. 2016. « Militarism and Nuclear Testing. Volume 1 of Teaching Oceania Series ». Monica LaBriola. Honolulu : Center for Pacific […]

Les rôles politiques des militaires fidjiens (Université de la Nouvelle-Calédonie)

Les rôles politiques des militaires fidjiens – Hélène Goiran “Depuis 1978, des milliers de soldats fidjiens ont été, et sont déployés au Liban et au Sinaï, ainsi que sur de nombreux autres théâtres extérieurs, s’illustrant par leur courage et leur efficacité. Aujourd’hui encore, du fait de leur valeur, et, malgré le coup d’État du 5 décembre 2006 et les sanctions internationales décidées contre le gouvernement Bainimarama, l’ONU confie aux militaires fidjiens la protection de ses représentants et de ses installations en Irak.” Goiran, Hélène. 2011. Les rôles politiques des militaires fidjiens : Une histoire des guerriers, héros des conflits mondiaux, […]

Livre Blanc des recherches en Sciences Humaines et Sociales sur le Pacifique (e-Toile Pacifique/CNRS/EHESS/CREDO)

Livre Blanc des recherches en Sciences Humaines et Sociales sur le Pacifique Ce Livre Blanc découle d’un colloque organisé par le CNRS à Paris en 2010 : “Les objectifs qui nous ont motivés à organiser ce colloque, et qui nous motivent à pérenniser cette rencontre sous la forme d’une « toile » d’échange et de collaboration, découlent de plusieurs constats: le manque de mise en valeur scientifique des complémentarités disciplinaires, et l’insuffisante reconnaissance de la part des décideurs des apports considérables qu’ont fournis et que fournissent les recherches dans le Pacifique-Sud dans les Sciences Humaines et Sociales hier et aujourd’hui.” […]

Asia Pacific Bulletin : Strategic Overview of Oceania (East-West Center)

Asia Pacific Bulletin : Strategic Overview of Oceania – Cleo Paskal The East-West Center released Asia Pacific Bulletins aiming to highlight key issues facing Oceania in 2018. The first article is a strategic overview of Oceania by Dr Cleo Paskal: “The confluence of major changes in all three of the ‘3 geos’ (geopolitical, geoeconomic, and geophysical) is making the strategic picture in Oceania increasingly complex.” Paskal Cleo. 2018. “Asia Pacific Bulletin : Strategic Overview of Oceania”. Asia Pacific Bulletins (n°413). East-West Center : Washington.

How Will New Zealand Navigate the New Era in Asia? (The Diplomat)

How Will New Zealand Navigate the New Era in Asia? – Ed Kennedy “News out of Beijing late February announced President Xi Jinping could become “president for life,” following the removal of the two-term limit. This news caused shockwaves through the region, including in New Zealand. The need to chart a new direction for NZ’s course in Asia has long been clear. But Xi’s bold bid to solidify power should be seen as confirmation: Wellington can no longer approach foreign policy in Asia according to old patterns.” Read More: https://thediplomat.com/2018/03/how-will-new-zealand-navigate-the-new-era-in-asia/

Security in Oceania in the 21st Century (Asia Pacific Center for Security Studies)

Security in Oceania in the 21st Century – Eric Shibuya and Jim Rolfe «Where there has been attention focused on security issues for small island states, they have tended towards what has happened or can happen to island states rather than what island states can do to enhance their own security outlook. Prominent discussions of security in general, or even of Asia-Pacific security, have not taken the concerns of island states into much account, if at all.» Shibuya, Eric and Jim Rolfe. 2003. Security in Oceania in the 21st Century. Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies : Hawaii

France dives back in the South Pacific (The World Today)

France dives back in the South Pacific – Cleo Paskal In the article « France dives back into the South Pacific », Cleo Paskal reaffirms the Pacific territories’ geostrategic importance for France. The growing China’s involvement in Oceania motivated France to take part in diplomatic activities in the region. The striking event still is the submarines sale to Australia; this strategic alliance between both countries suggests a new defence line’s drawing, to prevent potential conflicts in the North Pacific.

Neo-Colonial France Back to the South Pacific & Why? (The John Batchelor Show)

Neo-Colonial France Back to the South Pacific & Why? – Cleo Paskal Cleo Paskal highlights the increasing commitment of France in the South Pacific region. The most striking event is its recent involvement in the Pacific Islands Forum via its territories and above all, the submarines sale to Australia. What does it mean for the French policymakers? Cleo Paskal gives us her answers.

Anxiety and Diminished Hope: The Potential Impact of Trump’s Presidency on Security in the Pacific Islands Region (The Round Table)

Anxiety and Diminished Hope: The Potential Impact of Trump’s Presidency on Security in the Pacific Islands Region – Steven Ratuva Ratuva examines two contradictory scenarios – isolationism and militarization – in order to foresee Trump’s impact on the Pacific Island Countries. The author also measures the impact of the Trump’s climate change denial on those countries. Steven Ratuva (2017): “Anxiety and Diminished Hope: The Potential Impact of Trump’s Presidency on Security in the Pacific Islands Region”, The Round Table: 1-8

AP 360: The Strategic Significance of Oceania with Cleo Paskal (The Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada)

Featured Video Play Icon

AP 360: The Strategic Significance of Oceania with Cleo Paskal Cleo Paskal, Associate Fellow at Chatham House (the Royal Institute of International Affairs), discusses how Oceania is changing and what it means for Canada, which has had a very limited presence in the region. Covering almost 1/6th of the planet’s surface, the Pacific island countries occupy a highly strategic and economically important zone between the Americas and Asia. And with increasing global multi-polarity, the 14 member states of the Pacific Island Forum (PIF) are being seen as substantially more pivotal than ever before.

Teaching Oceania series: Militarism and nuclear testing (Center for Pacific Islands Studies)

Teaching Oceania series: Militarism and nuclear testing – Joseph H. Genz et al. « The Teaching Oceania series is designed to serve the needs of undergraduate students of Pacific Islands Studies across Oceania and elsewhere. ». This volume seeks to shed light on « the impacts of militarization and nuclear testing in the Pacific Islands and on Pacific Islanders. ». Genz, Joseph H, Noelani Goodyear-Kaʻōpua, Monica C LaBriola, Alexander Mawyer, Elicita N Morei, and John P Rosa. 2016. « Militarism and Nuclear Testing. Volume 1 of Teaching Oceania Series ». Monica LaBriola. Honolulu: Center for Pacific Islands Studies, University of Hawai‘i–Mānoa.

The political roles of the Fijian military (University of New Caledonia)

The political roles of the Fijian military – Hélène Goiran “Since 1978, thousands of Fijian soldiers have been and are deployed in Lebanon and Sinai, as well as many other outdoor theaters, showing their courage and efficiency. Even today, because of their value, and in spite of the coup of December 5, 2006 and the international sanctions decided against the Bainimarama government, the UN entrusts the Fijian military with the protection of its representatives and its installations in Iraq.” Goiran, Hélène. 2011. Les rôles politiques des militaires fidjiens : Une histoire des guerriers, héros des conflits mondiaux, soldats de la […]

White Paper on Human and Social Sciences Research on the Pacific (e-Toile Pacifique/CNRS/EHESS/CREDO)

White Paper on Human and Social Sciences Research on the Pacific The White Paper comes from a symposium organized in 2010 at the CNRS in Paris: “The objectives that motivated us to organize this symposium, and which motivate us to perpetuate this meeting in the form of a “canvas” of exchange and collaboration, derive from several observations: the lack of scientific enhancement of the disciplinary complementarities, and the insufficient recognition on the part of decision-makers of the considerable contributions that have been made and provided by research in the South Pacific in the Human and Social Sciences yesterday and today. […]