Bulletin Asie-Pacifique : L’engagement du Japon en Océanie et la sécurité maritime (East-West Center)

Bulletin Asie-Pacifique : L’engagement du Japon en Océanie et la sécurité maritime – Rieko Hayakawa “Au cours de la dernière décennie, la Nippon Foundation a non seulement fourni des bateaux de patrouille aux pays micronésiens, mais elle a également établi un dialogue entre les pays micronésiens, les États-Unis et l’Australie. En janvier 2018, la Nippon Foundation a remis le centre régional de coordination maritime à Palau.” Haykawa, Rieko. 2018. “Bulletin Asie-Pacifique : l’engagement du Japon en Océanie et la sécurité maritime”. Bulletins Asie-Pacifique (n°417). East-West Center : Washington.

Bulletin Asie-Pacifique : Aperçu stratégique de l’Océanie (East-West Center)

Bulletin Asie-Pacifique : Aperçu stratégique de l’Océanie – Cleo Paskal Le East-West Center publie plusieurs bulletins Asie-Pacifique dont l’objectif est de mettre en lumière les enjeux clés auxquels l’Océanie doit faire face en 2018. Le premier article est un aperçu stratégique de l’Océanie par Dr Cleo Paskal : “La confluence de changements majeurs dans les “3 géos” ( géopolitique, géoéconomique et géophysique) confère à l’Océanie une image stratégique de plus en plus complexe.” Paskal Cleo. 2018. “Bulletin Asie-Pacifique: Aperçu stratégique de l’Océanie”. Bulletins Asie-Pacifique (n°413). East-West Center : Washington.

La création d’une communauté du Pacifique exigera un changement de politique (Australian Strategic Policy Institute)

La création d’une communauté du Pacifique exigera un changement de politique – Nic Maclellan “Les liens permanents entre l’Australie et le Pacifique sont dictés par la géographie et l’histoire. Les gouvernements du Pacifique se félicitent certainement des nouvelles ouvertures sur la mobilité de la main-d’œuvre et du soutien de la sécurité australienne pour la surveillance maritime, le contre-terrorisme et la criminalité transnationale. Mais il existe des différences fondamentales sur une série d’autres questions politiques et de sécurité.” Lire plus : https://www.aspistrategist.org.au/pacific-community-will-require-policy-change/

Mesurer la paix dans le Pacifique – Répondre à l’ODD 16 : Paix, justice et institutions fortes (Institute for Economics & Peace)

Mesurer la paix dans le Pacifique – Répondre à l’ODD 16 : Paix, justice et institutions fortes – Murray Ackman, Dr Andrea Abel van Es. et Daniel Hyslop “Ce rapport vise à mesurer la paix dans le Pacifique et à améliorer notre compréhension des données existantes et de la capacité à mesurer l’objectif 16 des objectifs de développement durable (ODD). Economie et Paix (IEP) avec le soutien du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce (DFAT). Le rapport explique pourquoi l’objectif de développement durable 16 (ODD16) est important pour le Pacifique, les données actuellement disponibles pour mesurer l’ODD16 et les […]

Quels sont les projets de l’Australie ? (The World Today)

Quels sont les projets de l’Australie ? – Cleo Paskal Cleo Paskal souligne l’influence croissante de la Chine en Australie et explique comment l’Australie y fait face. Paskal, Cleo. 2017. “What is Australia up to?”. The World Today (octobre & novembre): 42-44

Guide sur la diplomatie du Pacifique: l’Inde se penche sur « l’Extrême-Orient » (Observer Research Foundation)

Guide sur la diplomatie du Pacifique: l’Inde se penche sur « l’Extrême-Orient » – Patrick Walsh «Depuis son accession au pouvoir en 2014, le Premier ministre indien Narendra Modi a lentement étiré le bras de la politique étrangère du pays dans les eaux du Pacifique dans le cadre de la politique «Act East». Alors que les relations de l’Inde avec les États insulaires du Pacifique (lire, non l’Australie et la Nouvelle-Zélande) sont assez éteintes, Modi tente de jeter les bases d’une coopération future prospère.» Walsh, Patrick. 2017. « A Guidebook on Pacific Diplomacy: India Looks to the ‘Far East’ ». […]

Le Pacifique du Sud: Gagner en importance dans les calculs de la politique étrangère indienne (Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses)

Le Pacifique du Sud: Gagner en importance dans les calculs de la politique étrangère indienne – Niranjan Chandrashekhar Oak « “Ce document d’informationporte sur trois enjeux: l’importance stratégique du Pacifique Sud pour l’Inde, les avantages dont l’Inde bénéficie au detriment de la Chine dans la région et le statut des relations entre l’Inde et la Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée à la lumière de la récente visite du président Mukherjee”. Chandrashekhar Oak, Niranjan. 2016. “South Pacific: Gaining Prominence in Indian Foreign Policy Calculations”. Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses: 1-9

Encombrée et complexe : la géopolitique en changement dans le Pacifique du Sud (Australian Strategic Policy Institute)

Encombrée et complexe : la géopolitique en changement dans le Pacifique du Sud – Joanne Wallis « L’Australie est confrontée à un environnement géopolitique de plus en plus encombré et complexe dans le Pacifique Sud. Bien que les puissances externes les plus importantes dans la région aient toujours été l’Australie, la Nouvelle-Zélande, les États-Unis et la France, qui ont longtemps travaillé en tant que partenaires, un certain nombre de nouvelles puissances sont de plus en plus actives, notamment la Chine, la Russie, l’Indonésie, le Japon et l’Inde. Les États du Pacifique Sud, en particulier la Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée et les Fidji, émergent […]

Géopolitique, autodétermination, et la montée de la Chine en Océanie (Center for Pacific Islands Countries)

Géopolitique, autodétermination, et la montée de la Chine en Océanie – Terence Wesley-Smith La montée de la Chine en Océanie a été bien accueillie par les leaders des États insulaires du fait des opportunités politiques et économiques en découlant. A contrario, les acteurs externes tels que les États-Unis, et les acteurs régionaux tels que l’Australie, craignent une perturbation stratégique dans la région. Wesley-Smith, Terence. 2016. “Geopolitics, Self-Determination, and China’s Rise in Oceania” dans M. Ishihara et al. (eds.), Self-determinable Development of Small Islands, Springer Singapore : 85-99

La France dans le Pacifique Sud : 1966-2006 : enjeux et mutations (Université Montesquieu – Bordeaux IV)

La France dans le Pacifique Sud : 1966-2006 : enjeux et mutations – Nathalie Mrgudovic «Cette recherche porte sur une région qui se trouve aux antipodes de la métropole mais où la France y est présente grâce à trois de ses entités ultramarines, la Nouvelle-Calédonie, la Polynésie française et Wallis et Futuna. (…) Cette recherche a ainsi trois objectifs principaux. Elle entend tout d’abord évaluer les fondements et les enjeux de l’implantation et du maintien de la présence française dans le Pacifique Sud. Elle vise ensuite à déterminer la diversité des intérêts qui ont sous-tendu la contestation de la politique […]

Asia Pacific Bulletin: Japan’s Oceania Engagement and Maritime Security (East-West Center)

Asia Pacific Bulletin: Japan’s Oceania Engagement and Maritime Security – Rieko Hayakawa “Over the past decade, the Nippon Foundation has not only provided patrol boats to Micronesian countries, but also established a dialogue between Micronesian countries, as well as with the United States and Australia. In January 2018, the Nippon Foundation handed over the sub‐regional maritime  coordination center in Palau.” Haykawa, Rieko. 2018. “Asia Pacific Bulletin: Japan’s Oceania Engagement and Maritime Security”. Asia Pacific Bulletins (n°417). East-West Center : Washington.

Asia Pacific Bulletin : Strategic Overview of Oceania (East-West Center)

Asia Pacific Bulletin : Strategic Overview of Oceania – Cleo Paskal The East-West Center released Asia Pacific Bulletins aiming to highlight key issues facing Oceania in 2018. The first article is a strategic overview of Oceania by Dr Cleo Paskal: “The confluence of major changes in all three of the ‘3 geos’ (geopolitical, geoeconomic, and geophysical) is making the strategic picture in Oceania increasingly complex.” Paskal Cleo. 2018. “Asia Pacific Bulletin : Strategic Overview of Oceania”. Asia Pacific Bulletins (n°413). East-West Center : Washington.

A Pacific community will require policy change (Australian Strategic Policy Institute)

A Pacific community will require policy change – Nic Maclellan “Australia’s ongoing ties to the Pacific are driven by geography and history. Pacific governments certainly welcome new openings on labour mobility and Australian security support for maritime surveillance, counterterrorism and transnational crime. But on a range of other political and security issues, there are fundamental differences.” Read more: https://www.aspistrategist.org.au/pacific-community-will-require-policy-change/

Measuring peace in the Pacific – Addressing SDG16: Peace, Justice & Strong Institutions (Institute for Economics & Peace)

Measuring peace in the Pacific – Addressing SDG16: Peace, Justice & Strong Institutions – Murray Ackman, Dr Andrea Abel van Es. and Daniel Hyslop “This report aims to measure peace in the Pacific. It also seeks to enhance our understanding of the existing data and capacity to measure Goal 16 of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The report is part of a larger research project by the Institute for Economics and Peace (IEP) with support from the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT). Outlined within the report is why Sustainable Development Goal 16 (SDG16) is important to the Pacific, […]

What is Australia up to? (The World Today)

What is Australia up to? – Cleo Paskal Cleo Paskal outlines the growing influence of China towards Australia and stresses how Australia is dealing with it. Paskal, Cleo. 2017. “What is Australia up to?”. The World Today (october & november): 42-44

A Guidebook on Pacific Diplomacy: India Looks to the ‘Far East’ (Observer Research Foundation)

A Guidebook on Pacific Diplomacy: India Looks to the ‘Far East’ – Patrick Walsh « Since his assumption to power in 2014, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been slowly stretching the arm of the country’s foreign policy into Pacific waters in furtherance of the ‘Act East’ policy. While India’s relationship with the Pacific island states (read, not Australia and New Zealand) is quite unestablished, Modi is attempting to set the foundations for prosperous future cooperation. » Walsh, Patrick. 2017. « A Guidebook on Pacific Diplomacy: India Looks to the ‘Far East’ ». Observer Research Foundation 109 (Février) : 1-34

South Pacific: Gaining Prominence in Indian Foreign Policy Calculations (Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses)

South Pacific: Gaining Prominence in Indian Foreign Policy Calculations – Niranjan Chandrashekhar Oak «This backgrounder explores three issues: the strategic significance of the SouthPacific for India, the advantages that India enjoys over China in the region, andthe status of India’s relationship with Papua New Guinea in the light of therecent visit by President Mukherjee.» Chandrashekhar Oak, Niranjan. 2016. “South Pacific: Gaining Prominence in Indian Foreign Policy Calculations”. Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses: 1-9

Crowded and complex: The changing geopolitics of the South Pacific (Australian Strategic Policy Institute)

Crowded and complex: The changing geopolitics of the South Pacific – Joanne Wallis “Australia faces an increasingly crowded and complex geopolitical environment in the South Pacific. While the most important external powers in the region have traditionally been Australia, New Zealand, the US and France, which have long worked together as partners, a number of new powers are increasingly active, most notably China, Russia, Indonesia, Japan and India. South Pacific states, particularly Papua New Guinea and Fiji, are emerging as regional powers to constrain Australian influence.” Wallis, Joanne. 2017. “Crowded and complex: The changing of the South Pacific”, Australian Strategic Policy […]

Geopolitics, Self-Determination, and China’s Rise in Oceania (Center for Pacific Islands Countries)

Geopolitics, Self-Determination, and China’s Rise in Oceania – Terence Wesley-Smith China’s rise in the Oceania region has been welcomed by the island leaders because of the political and economic opportunities that it provided and still provides. On the contrary, external established actors such as the United States, and regional actors such as Australia fear a strategic disruption in the region. Wesley-Smith, Terence. 2016. “Geopolitics, Self-Determination, and China’s Rise in Oceania” dansM. Ishihara et al. (eds.), Self-determinable Development of Small Islands, Springer Singapore : 85-99

France in the South Pacific: 1966-2006: Challenges and Changes (Université Montesquieu – Bordeaux IV)

France in the South Pacific: 1966-2006: Challenges and Changes – Nathalie Mrgudovic «This research focuses on a region that lies at the very opposite of the metropolis but where France is present thanks to three of its ultramarine entities, New Caledonia, French Polynesia and Wallis and Futuna. (…) This research has three main objectives. First, it intends to evaluate the foundations and the stakes of the establishment and maintenance of the French presence in the South Pacific. It then seeks to determine the diversity of interests that underpinned the challenge of French policy in the South Pacific by the States […]